The most amazing Honda CX500

 
 

Serienmodell

Custom Bike

The Story

95 years ago with a manually operated slurry pump the success story of Pentair Jung Pumpen GmbH began. The simple lever pump with a new type of seal, which were manufactured for farmers in the rural region of Ostwestfalen-Lippe at that time, no longer exist today. Pentair Jung Pumpen - a member of the American Pentair Group since 2007 - now manufactures wastewater pumps and wastewater lifting systems for building drainage and municipal wastewater transport in Steinhagen. All products are characterised by high quality, reliability and durability - important properties when it comes to waste water disposal.

First slurry pump 1924

Jung Pumpen Haustechnik Produkte

Pentair Jung Pumpen products today

From the very beginning, these characteristics have also been reflected in the Honda CX500, which came onto the market in 1978 with revolutionary technology. The mid-range touring motorcycle had a cardan drive and new rims on which tubeless tyres were mounted as standard for the first time. The machine was thus technically the latest trend in this price segment, but unfortunately also anything but beautiful. And was promptly laughed at by tradition-conscious bikers as a nerd motorcycle. So also the German cartoonist Brösel made fun in his comics about the - in his eyes - useless water cooling and had his Horex-enthusiastic comic protagonist convert the cooling circuit of a CX500 to a liquid manure pump in a lightning action. This is the reason why the CX500 "plastic maggot" is known in Germany as the "Güllepumpe" (German word for manure pump).

This nickname never fell off the machine again and over the years a large fan community built up. Due to their longevity and the large offer of cheap spare parts, these oldtimers from the 80s are used today in the custom scene by many motorcycle customizers as a basis for conversions of all kinds.

That's what this is about: We want to see what you yourself have done with your Honda "Güllepumpe"!

The Contest

In this competition, it is not about the professionals from the custom scene who compete, but you as recreational gearheads who have put your hands on your "plastic maggot" (or "Gülleumpe" as we say in Germany). To have a cool motorbike exactly according to your taste in the garage (or in the living room) and to drive it out proudly. All variants of the Honda CX family are approved as the basis.

Which custom style you have implemented is unimportant, as long as it is recognizable. Whether Scrambler, Cafe Racer, Bobber, Bagger, Brat-Bikes, Flat-Tracker or even the good old Chopper, like in former times. Easy Rider just turned 50 this year, so we can't miss it ;-)

To participate you have to send us some photos of your real existing custom bike and add a small project description. Anything that documents the conversion and your own contribution will help our jury later to choose the best bike.

All submitted projects are presented here on the website and regularly in the social media of Jung Pumpen (Facebook, Instagram).

Click here for the conditions of participation.

 
Logo-Footer.png

Marvin Diehl, 33
Body and vehicle builder, owner of the motorcycle manufactory KRT Framework

Ralf Harnisch, 61
Technology expert and presenter "f104wart" in the Cafe Racer forum, CX customizer of the first hour

caferacer_logo_RZ.png

Dieter Reinard, 48
Product designer and managing director of the Kickstarter Web-Shop

LOGO_KICKSTARTER.png

Dr. Andreas Kämpf, 56
Head of Marketing Pentair Jung Pumpen

Marvin is not only a remarkable body and vehicle builder, but also very creative. Since he was 16 years old, he has been interested in motorcycle racing and occasionally drives by himself. In order to be able to travel quickly, he built himself a lightweight motorcycle, which caused a sensation in the scene and made him famous. Since then he can hardly save himself from requests for modifications. Since autumn 2018 he has been running his motorcycle factory at Kabelwerk B 64 between Beelen and Clarholz, where he produces very special conversions by hand on behalf of private and corporate customers.
 

Ralf knows the customizing scene, drives a modified CX 500 himself and is currently customizing a CX 650 into a classic Cafe Racer. He bought his first "Gülleumpe" back in 1979 while working in a Honda workshop. The technology and the chassis had convinced him immediately, the optics rather not, which he changed immediately by a few modifications.

Harnisch is active as a moderator in the popular and well known Cafe Racer forum, as well as in the CX GL500-650 Forum, where he gives helpful advice as a much sought-after and recognized technical expert. But he also has an eye for the right proportions and lines.

 

Dieter studied industrial design for 25 semesters and is therefore more than perfectly qualified for this jury. During his studies he founded several start-ups in the field of design and technology. In 2003 he founded KICKSTARTER.de, the well-known online shop for Cafe Racer and Scrambler accessories. At that time only a handful of motorcyclists could use the term Cafe Racer. Since then he has been passionate about motorcycle conversions and owns around a dozen self-converted machines.

Andreas came to marketing as a mechanical engineer with a technical background. He is interested in vintage vehicles on two and four wheels and has a few treasures standing in his barn. Even though his custom bike experience is limited to BMW so far, he is extremely curious about what is possible with a CX500.

The Jury

 
ace-logo-blk-keyline_SMALL.png

When you arrive, you have two choices: Either you and your companion travel with your motorcycles (incl. ferry crossing Dover-Calais) to London or you decide for the faster journey with the airplane - then however without your bikes.

 

Second prize

Voucher from KICKSTARTER.de worth €500.

Third prize

Voucher from KICKSTARTER.de worth €300.

The evaluation by the jury and the award ceremony will take place at the Güllepumpen Custom Bike meeting at the Kabelwerk B64 in Beelen on 18 August 2019. Food and drink will be available free of charge for all contest participants on this day.

The Prize

 

First prize worth about €1000

Weekend trip for two persons from Friday to Monday to London, to the legendary "Ace Cafe Reunion" from 6th to 8th September 2019. You stay overnight in a nearby hotel, of course incl. Full English Breakfast.

Be part of the thousands of motorcyclists meeting at the English cult site and take part in the final Ace Day at the Brighton Burn Up on Madeira Drive.

© 2019 by Pentair Jung Pumpen. Imprint

Press contact: andreas.kaempf(at)pentair.com

Pentair Jung Pumpen Logo_White_Small_Tra

Die coolste Honda CX500-Güllepumpe

 
 

Serienmodell

Custom Bike

Die Story

Mit einer handbetriebenen Güllepumpe fing vor 95 Jahren die Erfolgsgeschichte der Pentair Jung Pumpen GmbH an. Die einfachen Schwengelpumpen mit neuartiger Dichtung, die damals für die Bauern in der ländlichen Region Ostwestfalen-Lippes hergestellt wurden, gibt es heute nicht mehr. Pentair Jung Pumpen – seit 2007 zugehörig zum amerikanischen Pentair Konzern – fertigt heute in Steinhagen Schmutzwasserpumpen und Abwasserhebeanlagen für die Gebäudeentwässerung und den kommunalen Abwassertransport. Alle Produkte zeichnen sich durch hohe Qualität, Zuverlässigkeit und Langlebigkeit aus – wichtige Eigenschaften, wenn es um die Entsorgung von Abwasser geht.

 

Erste Güllepumpe 1924

Jung Pumpen Haustechnik Produkte

Pentair Jung Pumpen Produkte heute

Diese Eigenschaften stehen von Anfang an auch für die Honda CX500, die 1978 mit revolutionärer Technik auf den Markt kam. Das Mittelklasse-Tourenmotorrad hatte einen Kardanantrieb und neuartige Felgen, auf denen erstmals serienmäßig schlauchlose Reifen aufgezogen waren. Die Maschine war damit technisch der letzte Schrei in diesem Preissegment, aber leider auch alles andere als schön. Und wurde prompt von traditionsbewussten Bikern als Spießer-Motorrad verlacht. So machte sich auch Zeichner Brösel in seinen Werner-Comics über die - in seinen Augen - nutzlose Wasserkühlung lustig und ließ seinen Horex-begeisterten Klempnerlehrling den Kühl-Kreislauf einer CX500 in einer Blitzaktion zur Güllepumpe umbauen. Sowas kriegen SHK-Handwerker halt hin ;)

Dieser Spitzname fiel nie wieder von der Maschine ab und es baute sich über die Jahre eine große Fangemeinde auf. Durch ihre Langlebigkeit und das große Angebot an günstigen Ersatzteilen, werden diese Oldtimer aus den 80ern heute in der Custom-Szene von vielen Motorradschraubern als Basis für Umbauten aller Art verwendet.

 

Und darum geht’s hier: Wir wollten sehen, was ihr selbst aus euren Güllepumpen gemacht habt!

Leider sind nun keine Anmeldungen mehr möglich, der Contest fand am 18. August 2019 statt.

Der Contest

In diesem Wettbewerb messten sich nicht die Profis aus der Custom-Szene, sondern die Freizeitschrauber, die selbst Hand an ihre Güllepumpe angelegt haben. Um ein cooles Mopped genau nach eigenem Geschmack in der Garage (oder im Wohnzimmer) zu haben und dieses stolz auszufahren. Als Basis sind alle Varianten der Honda CX-Familie zugelassen.

Welchen Custom-Stil ihr dabei umgesetzt habt, ist  unwichtig, Hauptsache, er ist erkennbar. Ob Scrambler, Cafe Racer, Bobber, Bagger, Brat-Bikes, Flat-Tracker oder sogar der gute alte Chopper, wie früher. Easy Rider ist dieses Jahr schließlich gerade 50 geworden, da kann man das nicht auslassen ;)

 
Logo-Footer.png

Marvin Diehl, 33
Karosserie und Fahrzeugbauer, Inhaber der Motorradmanufaktur KRT Framework

Ralf Harnisch, 61
Technik-Experte und Moderator "f104wart" im Cafe Racer Forum, CX-Schrauber der ersten Stunde

caferacer_logo_RZ.png

Dieter Reinard, 48
Produktdesigner und Geschäftsführer vom Kickstarter Web-Shop

LOGO_KICKSTARTER.png

Dr. Andreas Kämpf, 56
Marketingleiter Pentair Jung Pumpen

Marvin ist nicht nur ein bemerkenswerter Karosserie- und Fahrzeugbauer, sondern auch sehr kreativ. Seit er 16 Jahre alt ist, interessiert er sich für den Motorrad-Rennsport und fährt auch hin und wieder selbst. Um schnell unterwegs sein zu können, baute er sich ein Leichtgewicht-Motorrad, das in der Szene Aufsehen erregte und ihn bekannt machte. Seitdem kann er sich vor Umbau-Anfragen kaum retten. Seit Herbst 2018 betreibt er seine Motorrad-Manufaktur im Kabelwerk B 64 zwischen Beelen und Clarholz, wo er im Auftrag von Privat- und Firmenkunden ganz besondere Umbauten in aufwendiger Handarbeit herstellt.

Ralf kennt  die Umbauszene, fährt selbst eine modifizierte CX 500 und baut sich aktuell eine CX 650 zu einem klassischen Cafe Racer um. Seine erste Güllepumpe kaufte er bereits 1979, während er nebenbei in einer Honda-Werkstatt arbeitete. Die Technik und das Fahrwerk hatten ihn sofort überzeugt, die Optik eher nicht, was er umgehend durch ein paar Umbauten änderte.

Harnisch ist als Moderator in dem beliebten und über die Grenzen hinaus bekannten Cafe Racer Forum aktiv, ebenso wie im CX GL500-650 Forum, wo er als vielgefragter und anerkannter technischer Experte hilfreichen Rat gibt. Er hat aber auch ein Auge für die richtigen Proportionen und Linien.
 

Dieter hat 25 Semester Industrial Design studiert und ist damit für diese Jury mehr als perfekt qualifiziert. Während seines Studiums gründete er mehrere Start-Ups im Bereich Design und Technik. 2003 folgte die Gründung von KICKSTARTER.de, dem bekannten Online-Shop für Cafe Racer- und Scrambler-Zubehör. Damals konnte mit dem Begriff  Cafe Racer nur eine Handvoll Motorradfahrer etwas anfangen. Seither brennt er für Motorradumbauten und besitzt rund ein Dutzend selbst umgebauter Maschinen.

Andreas ist als Maschinenbau-Ingenieur und damit mit einem technischen Background zum Marketing gekommen. Er interessiert sich für Oldtimer auf zwei und vier Rädern und hat einige Schätzchen in seiner Scheune stehen. Auch wenn sich seine Custom Bike-Erfahrung bisher nur auf BMW begrenzt, ist er extrem neugierig, was mit einer CX500 so anzustellen ist.

Die Jury

 
ace-logo-blk-keyline_SMALL.png

Zweiter Preis

Gutschein von KICKSTARTER.de im Wert von €500.

Dritter Preis

Gutschein von KICKSTARTER.de im Wert von €300.

Die Preise

 

Erster Preis im Wert von ca. €1000

Das Vater-Sohn Projekt von Viktor und Karsten Bothe gewann ein Wochenendtrip von Freitag bis Montag nach London, zur legendären  „Ace Cafe Reunion“ vom 6. bis 8. September 2019. Übernachtet wird in einem nahegelegenen Hotel, natürlich inkl. Full English Breakfast.

Tausende von Motorradfahrern treffen  sich dort an der englischen Kultstätte. Im Anschluss findet abschließenden Ace Day beim Brighton Burn Up auf dem Madeira Drive statt.

© 2019 by Pentair Jung Pumpen. Impressum

Pressekontakt: andreas.kaempf(at)pentair.com

Pentair Jung Pumpen Logo_White_Small_Tra